Champion of the Afterworld
  • ARTIST: Dan Misha Goldman
  • TITLE: Champion of the Afterworld
  • CAT#: FMG060
  • FORMAT: Vinyl, CD, Digital
  • RELEASE DATE: March 10, 2017

In 2013, the NUMUS festival in Waterloo paired Goldman with The Pendercki String Quartet. After the show, Dan Misha knew that he wanted to arrange several songs for his next record, Champion Of The Afterworld, in this configuration. All the while, he was being tugged by more ambient gestures. Nuno Cannavarro’s Plux Cuba was on daily rotation, and Brian Eno’s Appolo was the pre-show music for all Snowblink performances at the time.

Seeking the charm of impossibilities, Dan explored a small handful of vintage synthesizers, studied the 16th Century counterpoint of Palestrina, and spent time alone in the Yucca Valley desert uncovering lyrical shards that seemed to be worth sharing.

He invited long time collaborator, Daniela Gesundheit (Snowblink, Owen Pallett, Zammuto) to compliment his baritone voice on several duets. He also featured Daniela’s haunting presence on the instrumental tracks. The narcoleptic, narcotic textures of Champion Of The Afterworld that span 32 minutes — just a little longer than your usual power nap — were produced between Snowblink tours, a day here and there over the course of two years in conjunction with Producer, David Travers-Smith in Toronto.

Champion of the Afterworld is very much Dan Misha Goldman’s dream, fully realized and vividly captured.” – Dominionated

“fascinating” – Stuart Maconie, BBC

“Corners is a beautiful song with a melodic tune and tranquil lyrics that make you feel as if you are in a dream.”  Impose



More From Dan Misha Goldman
Dan Misha Goldman
Champion of the Afterworld